Olive Oil

What is Olive Oil?

Olive Oil is an oil that derives from its fruits rather than its seeds. This oil comes from the olive fruit which growths on the olive tree around the Mediterranean regions; Olive oil has been part of the Mediterranean lifestyle and beauty regimen since  5000BC (before this, the oil was used as a fuel to light the lamp and for religious ceremonies) as well as getting mentioned in the bible.

Why is Olive Oil good for the hair?

Olive oil has very high levels of monounsaturated essential fatty acids (the good, healthy fat) and vitamin E, it also has many great acids such as Palmitic acid, Oleic acid, Squalene and Terpenes; these acids act like balms which are believed to soften and smooth the hair by creating a layer on the surface of the hair that helps it to lubricate the hair. This decreases any tangles and snagging of the hair. These acids also naturally condition the hair.

Vitamin E helps to fight free radicals from the sun and the pollution in the atmosphere that may damage the hair.

Olive oil is great at alleviating itching and inflammatory scalp and reduce and flaky scalps, therefore reducing all symptoms associated with dandruff.

It nourishes, softens and locks in the moisture in the hair by penetrating the hair shaft and therefore reducing split ends and strengthen the hair. A softer hair can mean more manageable hair since the hair is hydrated.

Olive Oil may be able to aid hair retention and growth as it helps control the sebum on the scalp. Excess sebum can sometimes block the growth of new follicles.

Why is Olive Oil good for the body?

Olive oil helps to moisture the skin and keep its supple as well as (it may) prevent it from premature ageing.

It also helps to soften the dry skin and soothes some skin rash.

If store properly and consume (Extra Virgin Olive Oil), it has cardiovascular and liver-protective benefits and may prevent some cancer.

Disadvantage:

Olive oil goes rancid very quickly when exposed to oxygen and light.

If you want to learn more about the benefits of Olive Oil or and other oil in terms of food and the body, please check these links out.

https://manyeats.com/health-effects-of-olive-oil/>

How To Cook With The Healthiest Oils

Reference:

Nagdeve, M. (2020); 10 Health Benefits Of Olive Oil; Organic Facts; https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/oils/health-benefits-of-olive-oil.html

Hirst, K.K. (2019); The Ancient History of Making Olive Oil; ThoughtCo; https://www.thoughtco.com/ancient-history-of-making-olive-oil-4047748

ExploreCrete; (17/02/2020); History of Olive Oil; https://www.explorecrete.com/nature/olive-oil-history.html

Leech, J. (2018); 11 Proven Benefits of Olive Oil; Healthline; https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/11-proven-benefits-of-olive-oil

Nall, R. (2018); Is olive oil good for your hair? Medical News Today; https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/323581

Reward Me (17/02/2020); Count On Olive Oil For Common Hair Care Problems; Reward Me; https://www.rewardme.in/beauty/hair/10-amazing-hair-care-benefits-of-olive-oil

Lagadien, S. (17/02/2020); Benefits of Olive Oil for Hair; Leaf; https://www.leaf.tv/13714760/the-health-benefits-of-oil-pulling/

Cutler, N. (2011); Liver Pros and Cons of Olive Oil; Liver Support; https://www.liversupport.com/liver-pros-and-cons-of-olive-oil/

Billian, S. (17/02/2020); Olive Oil Advantages & Disadvantages; Live Strong; https://www.livestrong.com/article/375120-olive-oil-advantages-disadvantages/

Photo by Frank Albrecht on Unsplash

Photo by Frank Albrecht on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.